Rules      FAQ       Register        Login
It is currently March 28th, 2024, 10:11 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Setting up a frame
PostPosted: June 10th, 2005, 10:19 pm 
Istari
Istari
User avatar

Joined: 03 June 2005
Posts: 2141
Location: Davenport, Iowa

Offline
I see this question lots...people want to have a frame in their site.

I use iframes, they're much more simpler.

Here's my little tutorial on setting up a frame in your website.

First of all, use this basic code:

Code:
<IFRAME name="inlineframe" src="URL HERE" width=# height=# marginwidth=# marginheight=# frameborder=# scrolling=auto></IFRAME>


Replace "URL HERE" with the URL of the page you want to appear in the frame, the # after height and width with the height and width you want in pixels, if you want, you can replace "inlineframe" with a different name. Replace th # after marginwidth and marginheight with the number in height and width in pixels you want your margin to be, and replace the # after frameborder with the width in pixels you want the border to be. If you don't want a marginn or a border, just place a 0 in those places.

Next, you have to set up the links to click on, use this code to set them up so that when you click on a link outside the iframe, it targets the iframe and a new page appears.

Code:
<a href="URL HERE" target="inlineframe">TEXT TO CLICK ON</a href>


Replace URL HERE with the URL of the page you want to appear in the frame, and if you've re-named the frame, replace "inlineframe" with the name of your frame.

Then, you position the links and the iframe. I'f you're using something like Frontpage, you can click and drag, but I'm not sure about what to do after that.

Simple, eh? You can combine more then one. And they work just like frames, but are much simpler.

Note: I'm not quite sure which browsers support iframes, but I think these are it: IE 5+, Mozilla Firefox, and Opera 7. I'm not sure about Netscape

_________________
<center>
Image
i've got a jar of raeg

</center>


Top
 Profile       WWW            
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: June 13th, 2005, 1:46 pm 
Dunadan
Dunadan
User avatar

Joined: 04 June 2005
Posts: 462
Location: Eryn Lasgalen, England

Offline
That's really helpful. Thanks. :bounce:

_________________
<center>

Image

Sig set by Smeagollum =)</center>


Top
 Profile       WWW            
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: June 14th, 2005, 5:04 pm 
Ent
Ent
User avatar

Joined: 04 June 2005
Posts: 659

Offline
oh kool! I have always wondered how to do Iframes. Thanks!

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile                  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: September 2nd, 2005, 10:12 am 
Half-elf
Half-elf
User avatar

Joined: 29 August 2005
Posts: 940
Location: USA
Country: United States (us)
Gender: Female

Offline
How do you get those thin lined frames like in the "Domination" site there's a link to in your sig?

And these frames in Yaviel's site:
http://www.freewebs.com/fadedlothlorien/

Where they just look like spaces of different colors,
and how the white spaces just fade into the bottom of her picture like that-how do you do that?

Does anyone know how to position and ifame?

_________________
Image
https://arwen-undomiel-official.blogspot.com/


Top
 Profile                  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: September 5th, 2005, 10:15 pm 
Istari
Istari
User avatar

Joined: 03 June 2005
Posts: 2141
Location: Davenport, Iowa

Offline
'*Synariel*' wrote:
How do you get those thin lined frames like in the "Domination" site there's a link to in your sig?

And these frames in Yaviel's site:
http://www.freewebs.com/fadedlothlorien/

Where they just look like spaces of different colors,
and how the white spaces just fade into the bottom of her picture like that-how do you do that?


I'm not really sure. However, I believe the image was done in slicing for Yavel's site, and the fading is just part of the image. Also, I thik the thin lines on Domination are atually part of a backround image and the Iframe has just been made small enough to fit in it.

Quote:
Does anyone know how to position and ifame?

Pixle positing. It's a hassle, but you have to do it. When I wrote this tutorial I was still on a Pagebuilder. I wil find a better code. But, try putting your Iframe in a div with a border and backround that is the same color of your site backround. Then, position it that way. Actually, I think taht's how Jen did it on Domination. I must ask her.

_________________
<center>
Image
i've got a jar of raeg

</center>


Top
 Profile       WWW            
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: October 27th, 2005, 2:41 pm 
Maia
Maia
User avatar

Joined: 04 June 2005
Posts: 4449
Location: Northern USA

Offline
Or you can use this code to position your Iframe:
Code:
style="position: absolute; left: X; top: X;"

You insert this code in your iframe code, like this:
Code:
<iframe style="position: absolute; left: X; top: X;">

(but don't forget to put the rest of the code in the iframe!)
Then replace the Xs next to left and top with how many pixels you want the iframe to be from the left of the page and from the top of the page. I hope this helps, and feel free to PM me with any questions :)

~Gilraen :)

_________________
Image
<center>icon & banner by me
skyward-thoughts
</center>


Top
 Profile       WWW            
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron




Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Boyz theme by Zarron Media 2003